What Happens after Lights Off?


Recently my office desktop was revamped. That means, I got a new machine. That means, all my old software installations are gone, and I have to re-install everything once again. That means, I should have taken a backup of the installation files before machine change. That means, I don’t have them anymore anywhere (no surprise).

I hate taking backups – for no apparent reason. I have deleted hundreds of photos without a second copy without even blinking an eyelid. I seem to have a weird fascination for Shift+Delete. As recently as last month, I wrote a post on how I deleted a very important document which was supposed to be delivered urgently.

Now here’s a different story. Unlike documents, applications and softwares can be downloaded from internet, but a major problem is that most of the older versions are not available for download anymore from the original sites. For example, Adobe RoboHelp old version (if you don’t know already what RoboHelp is, you probably don’t need to know) is not available at Adobe site anymore. So I have been trying to download from sites like Brothersoft.

Today afternoon I downloaded RoboHelp from Brothersoft, and when you download from third party sites, they try to give you more value for your effort by giving some free add-on applications to entertain you. I got an application called ‘Lights Off’ along with RoboHelp.

After a few minutes of installation, ‘Lights Off’ popped up a message on my desktop. It read: “Soumya is waiting to connect with you. Open Chat”. And then another one, “Kavitha 23 has sent you a message”.

Now I understand why the application is called ‘Lights Off’. I would really like to switch the lights off, but my manager sits right across my desk and I may have to have a word with him. Who knows, he may join me for the chat, after all he’s a positive man. Let me check and get back to you.

About Joshi Mukard (100 Articles)
The author is a wandering soul with no place to call 'home-town'. He was born in Kerala, brought up in several parts of Tamil Nadu, and currently living in Bangalore, shifting his base across the city on a yearly basis with fellow (unfortunate) wanderers, his wife (Libena) and little daughter (Tanaya). Despite all these, the author is a happy soul with no complaints on anything. He wakes up in the morning and sleeps at night and in-between he ducks, stumbles and dances through this world.

6 Comments on What Happens after Lights Off?

  1. ha ha ha

  2. I am here after really long and it feels to read your writing again. As crisp and funny as ever! Hope you’re doing good. 🙂

  3. Hi,

    Enjoyed reading your post. Also enjoyed reading your ‘About Me’. If you have the inclination, please check out my blog at corporatelife101.wordpress.com.

Leave a comment